Dendrolab.ch
 
 

 

ADAPT ALP - Adaptation to Climate Change in the Alpine Space

Climate change is to a large extent constituted by increasing temperatures and changed precipitation patterns. Any change of these critical factors has implications on the frequency and extent of natural hazards. The uncertainties and the increase of natural hazards due to the impacts of CC require concerted management in the Alpine Space to effectively save human life, settlements and infrastructure.
At present, there is still a lack of precise data taking CC into account. Harmonized cross-sectoral hazard assessment, hazard mapping or harmonized risk management must be balanced on a transnational level. Knowledge concerning flood events and droughts must be assessed in consideration of climate change, inter-sectoral hazard assessment, risk prevention a communication can only be efficient and effective if a common transnational understanding on those topics is present. AdaptAlp focuses the harmonization of the various national approaches and methods. Beside harmonization of terminology, an important issue tackled by AdaptAlp is the provision of reliable data and design events for the Alpine Space.
The Dendrolab.ch contributes to the AdaptAlp project with tree-ring based reconstructions of frequency-magnitude reconstructions of debris flows in the Austrian Alps and an identification of tools helping in the analysis and quantification of design events (uncertainty and accuracy assessments).

 
     
 

Contractors: European Union (EU Interreg IV B project), Bundesministerium für Land- und Forstwirtschaft, Umwelt und Wasserwirtschaft, Vienna (Austria)

Project duration: Januar 2009 – July 2011

Contact: Markus Stoffel

Web site: www.adaptalp.org

Publications:

Mayer, B., Stoffel, M., Bollschweiler, M., Hübl, J., Rudolf-Miklau, F. (2010): Frequency and spread of debris floods on fans: a dendrogeomorphic case study from a dolomite catchment in the Austrian Alps. Geomorphology 118: 199–206. [PDF]

 
Dendrolab.ch

Dendrolab.ch
 
 

 

ADAPT ALP - Adaptation au réchauffement climatique dans l’arc alpin

Le réchauffement climatique implique principalement une augmentation de température et une modification du régime des précipitations. Une variation de ces deux facteurs influence la fréquence et l’étendue des dangers naturels. L’augmentation des dangers naturels due au réchauffement climatique nécessite une gestion concertée dans l’arc alpin afin de sauver efficacement vies humaines, habitations et infrastructures.
Actuellement, il y a encore un manque de données précises tenant compte du réchauffement climatique. L’évaluation du danger, la cartographie du danger ou la gestion du risque doivent être équilibrées au niveau transnational. Les événements connus d’inondation et de sécheresse doivent être considérés en tenant compte du réchauffement climatique, de l’évaluation du danger entre les secteurs et de la prévention du risque. Une information ne peut être efficace que si une compréhension commune et transnationale de ces sujets existe. AdaptAlp vise à harmoniser les différentes approches et méthodes nationales. En plus d’une harmonisation de la terminologie, AdaptAlp souhaite constituer une base de données fiable des événements pour l’arc alpin.
Le Dendrolab.ch contribue au projet AdaptAlp par des reconstitutions dendrogéomorphologiques de la fréquence et de la magnitude des laves torrentielles dans les Alpes autrichiennes et par l’identification des outils aidant l’analyse et la quantification des événements (évaluation du degré d’incertitude et du degré d’exactitude).

 
     
 

Mandataires : Union européenne (projet EU Interreg IV B), Bundesministerium für Land- und Forstwirtschaft, Umwelt und Wasserwirtschaft, Vienna (Austria)

Durée du projet : janvier 2009 – juin 2012

Contact: Markus Stoffel, Barbara Mayer

Web site: www.adaptalp.org

Publikationen:

Mayer, B., Stoffel, M., Bollschweiler, M., Hübl, J., Rudolf-Miklau, F. (2010): Frequency and spread of debris floods on fans: a dendrogeomorphic case study from a dolomite catchment in the Austrian Alps. Geomorphology 118: 199–206. [PDF]

 
Dendrolab.ch